Carabao Cup final kick-off time confirmed


Arsenal made it to the final of the Carabao Cup final last night with a 2-1 win over Chelsea.

We’ll face Man City in the final on February 25th, and the kick-off time has been confirmed this morning as 4.30pm at Wembley.

Will it be third time lucky for Arsene Wenger, having made the League Cup final twice before but losing in 2011 to Birmingham City and in 2007 to Chelsea? Perhaps playing a team in lighter blue will be just the thing we need.

It’s a competition Arsenal have won twice, the last time in 1993 when goals from Paul Merson and Steve Morrow saw us beat Sheffield Wednesday 2-1.

Before that, that there was that famous day in 1987 against Liverpool when Charlie Nicholas struck twice to secure a 2-1 over much fancied Liverpool.

Readers of a certain vintage will remember two successive League Cup final defeats in 1967-68 to Leeds, and in ’68-69 the Gunners were beaten 3-1 in extra-time by third division Swindon Town (too soon!). We also lost to Luton in 1988 so it’s a tournament that has given us more pain than pleasure down the years.

It’s a competition the current manager has never won, so it’d be nice if he were to complete his domestic collection this season.

Leave a Reply

27 Comments on "Carabao Cup final kick-off time confirmed"

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted